Is SkinCeuticals Hydrating B5 Gel Really the Best Hyaluronic Acid Serum of 2026?
Fortune Magazine crowned a $95, four-ingredient serum “Best Overall.” We looked at the formula and how that conclusion was reached.
By Alexander Brosda | Sokörpe Laboratories Skin-Care Innovations™
Fortune Magazine just published its list of the “Best Hyaluronic Acid Serums of 2026.”
Its top pick?
SkinCeuticals Hydrating B5 Gel.
Fortune calls it the “Best Overall” hyaluronic acid serum after testing several products.
There is only one problem.
Once you stop looking at the brand name, the luxury positioning and the $95 price tag, and actually look at what is inside the bottle and how Fortune reached its conclusion, the designation becomes difficult to understand.
Fortune also discloses at the very top of the article:
“We may earn affiliate revenue from links in the content.”
There is nothing inherently improper about affiliate revenue. Publications have to make money.
The question is whether a commercial skincare article gives consumers enough objective evidence to justify declaring one product the “best overall.”
Look at the Formula
SkinCeuticals Hydrating B5 Gel currently lists just four ingredients:
Aqua / Water / Eau, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Pantothenate, Sodium Hyaluronate.
That is it.
Water.
Phenoxyethanol, a synthetic preservative.
Calcium Pantothenate, a form of vitamin B5.
Sodium Hyaluronate, the sodium salt of hyaluronic acid.
And the price?
SkinCeuticals itself currently lists the product at $95 for 30 ml.
Minimal formulas are not automatically bad formulas. Sometimes simplicity is desirable.
Minimalism, however, does not magically turn four ingredients into the best hyaluronic acid serum available.
And it certainly does not explain why consumers are paying $95.
About That Phenoxyethanol
Phenoxyethanol appears immediately after water on the ingredient list.
That deserves attention, although ingredient lists must be interpreted correctly.
Its position does not prove that the bottle contains some enormous concentration of phenoxyethanol. Cosmetic labeling rules allow ingredients present at 1% or less to be listed without strict descending concentration order after ingredients present above 1%.
There is also no scientific basis for screaming “poison” simply because phenoxyethanol appears in a cosmetic.
The European Commission's Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety concluded that phenoxyethanol is safe when used as a cosmetic preservative at concentrations up to 1%.
That is not the argument.
The better question is this:
How much hyaluronic acid are you actually getting in this $95 hyaluronic acid serum?
SkinCeuticals does not disclose the percentage on the product information reviewed here.
Fortune does not provide it either.
Nor does Fortune provide molecular-weight information for the sodium hyaluronate in its “best overall” selection.
For a publication claiming to identify the best hyaluronic acid serum of 2026, those seem like rather relevant pieces of information.
So How Did Fortune Determine “Best Overall”?
This is where the review becomes even more interesting.
Fortune says its testers evaluated texture and feel, skin comfort and effectiveness.
For SkinCeuticals, one tester described the serum as hydrating and easy to layer under makeup.
She gave its application 4 out of 5.
Texture and feel?
3.5 out of 5.
Effectiveness?
4 out of 5.
She also specifically described the product as sticky and tacky during absorption. Fortune itself lists “expensive” among the product's cons.
Yet the publication displays an overall Fortune score of 4.5 out of 5 and awards the product “Best Overall.”
Even more curious: every product in Fortune's five-product roundup is shown with the same 4.5/5 Fortune score.
SkinCeuticals: 4.5.
CeraVe: 4.5.
TruSkin: 4.5.
La Roche-Posay: 4.5.
The Ordinary: 4.5.
So what objective measurement separates “Best Overall” from the other 4.5-rated products?
Fortune does not present a clinical head-to-head trial.
It does not disclose instrumental measurements of skin hydration.
It does not show corneometer readings.
It does not compare transepidermal water loss.
It does not publish the concentration of hyaluronic acid in each formula.
It does not provide a molecular-weight analysis across the products.
What it primarily presents is consumer testing involving application, texture, comfort, layering and perceived results.
Those observations have value, but they are not the same thing as establishing that one formula is scientifically the best hyaluronic acid serum of 2026.
A $95 Brand Name Is Still a $95 Brand Name
SkinCeuticals has spent decades building a premium medical-skincare identity.
That brand recognition has value.
Packaging has value.
Distribution has value.
Marketing has value.
None of those things change the ingredient list.
A consumer buying Hydrating B5 Gel is paying $95 for a 30 mL water-based formulation containing phenoxyethanol, calcium pantothenate and sodium hyaluronate.
That is the formula.
Interestingly, Fortune's own “Best Budget” selection, The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid, was listed at $9.90 and described by Fortune as containing five forms of hyaluronic acid, ceramides and pro-vitamin B5.
Fortune gave that product the same overall 4.5/5 score.
That makes the $95 “Best Overall” selection even more worthy of scrutiny.
This Is Why We Tell Consumers to Read the Ingredient List
At Sokörpe Laboratories, we manufacture hyaluronic acid serum too, so there is no reason for us to pretend we are a disinterested observer.
Compare the formulations yourself.
Our current Hyaluronic Acid Serum discloses 1.5% sodium hyaluronate using three molecular weights: 5,000, 100,000 and 1,000,000 Daltons.
The formula also contains niacinamide, panthenol, sodium PCA, MSM, amino acids, mineral bioferments, aloe, rose distillate and additional botanical and fermentation-derived ingredients.
And our current retail price is below SkinCeuticals' $95 price.
You do not have to take our word for which formula you prefer.
Read them.
That is exactly what consumers ought to be doing.
“Best” Requires More Than a Famous Name
Fortune may genuinely have preferred the way SkinCeuticals Hydrating B5 Gel felt on its tester's skin.
That is a perfectly legitimate opinion.
Calling it the “Best Overall Hyaluronic Acid Serum of 2026” is a much bigger statement.
When a publication earns affiliate revenue, evaluates a $95 skincare product largely through subjective consumer testing, gives all five finalists the same overall 4.5/5 score, and then crowns one of them “Best Overall,” consumers deserve to know exactly what separates the winner from the rest.
In this case, that evidence is far less impressive than the headline.
Before buying skincare because a famous magazine calls it “the best,” turn the bottle around.
Read the ingredients.
Before buying skincare because a famous magazine calls it “the best,” turn the bottle around. Read the ingredient list, see whether the active concentrations are disclosed, examine the formulation itself, and ask what was actually tested before accepting the headline.
Then decide whether you are paying for skincare science...
or for the name on the bottle.
Alexander Brosda is the co-founder and CEO of Sokörpe Laboratories Skin-Care Innovations™. He is a skincare formulation researcher and skincare science educator.